Back to Back Issues Page
WRITER'S BLOCK, Issue #11-How David R Lewis became a writer, update on Glory Trail
June 01, 2016

A Brief History:

Why I write

I wrote my first book in 1981-1982. It was fostered in my tiny mind by a series of recurrent dreams, and I wrote the thing for a number of reasons. One of them being the fact that I needed to get it out of my head. It was called Incidents Among the Savages. I didn't write another book until 2002. That effort was in the early days of the great vampire incursion into popular pulp fiction. I wrote the book on a dare because I didn't like books about vampires and thought I might be able to write one that seemed reasonably plausible. The same individual who dared me to write the "Vamp" book knew I didn't care for romance novels and came up with another dare for me, this time in the genre of bodice rippers. That’s how Once Upon Again came to be.

All of a sudden, I realized I was a writer and needed another story to write. Then came an unexpected event. I was put in contact with a young woman who was in fear for her life and wanted instruction on how to defend herself with a handgun. The threat was real. I taught her combat handgun shooting, and she was a dedicated and excellent student. Watching the empowerment that grew in her was a wonderful thing and, thank goodness, she never needed to use her new skills. The individual who was the threat died a natural death. But, from that encounter sprang the CROCKETT series of eight novels, six of which are published.

During the years, I have written a memoir called Endless Journey, a book based on my years as a police officer entitled Cowboys and Indians, dozens of short stories about my youth, and another novel that has yet to be published called Writer's Block. (It was great fun, and a sequel is in the works.)

I was never well-acquainted with western novels. Oh, I'd read a book by Zane Grey when I was in grade school and a novel entitled A Man Called Noon by Louis L'Amour in my early teens, but that was my entire investment in stories of the west, other than The Lone Ranger and Tonto on black and white Saturday morning television. Then I stumbled on Larry McMurtry and his classic, Lonesome Dove, as well as the mini-series when it came on television in 1989. The thought of actually writing a western never occurred to least not until early 2012.

The idea kept niggling at the back of my mind. Was I qualified? I'd been around horses most of my life, I knew about handguns, I'd been a cop, and I'd spent a lot of my youth with my grandfather and his cronies, all men born in the 1800's. In my thirties, I'd worked as a day hand on cattle ranches; and I wasn't afraid of research. So, why not try? In just a little over a month, a book called Deer Run Trail poured out of me. Since then, I have released six more westerns in the TRAIL series; and I'm astounded by how well they have been received. In stacks of reviews people have told me how much the characters feel like friends or how much they enjoy the humor or their respect for the dedication and honor of the marshals or the pleasure they get from just the dialogue. I'm overwhelmed. It seems that I have created a legend...a legend who wears spurs and rides a little buckskin named Willie.

Do I pretend to be a western author? No. But among other stuff, I do write westerns.

Keep your cinch tight,


P.S. For those of you who have read Deer Run Trail, Piggy Wiggins and Arberry Yont actually did exist. They were two of my grandfather's childhood friends. Who could resist using those two names? Apparently not me.

(An homage to Calvin and Hobbs creator, Bill Watterson.)


Plans are in the works for releasing the next book in the CROCKETT series, Behind the Badge: Small Town Troublemakers in early 2017!

Crockett takes a part time job as a small-town cop and becomes suspicious of a local nightclub. With the help of the Missouri State Police, a cute undercover operative, and the ever-present Stitch, Crockett begins an investigation that leads to murder, mayhem, and more when he goes BEHIND THE BADGE.

Trail News

Work has slowed down a bit on Glory Trail. The Marshals are kindly tired and need a little break. But, they'll be back in the saddle soon. Don't worry, David still has their back trail...and that of his fans, too!


We now have 46 videos put up. More should be in place soon. Please check it out; and if you would, follow us on YouTube. We'd really appreciate that!

We named the channel David R Lewis. So, you can just type in David's name, and the YouTube search engine will pull it up, or you can click on the link below.

What you will find is a channel that has four playlists at the moment: the Trail series, the Crockett series, Heartland Memories, and Thoughts on Writing. David performs some excerpts from his books, shares some memories of his youth, and rants a little about the writing process.

Savages: First encounter with Snow Walker

David R Lewis

The Crockett Series

The CROCKETT series:

Remember: eBook #1 of the CROCKETT series, FEAR OF THE FATHER, is still free everywhere. Here's the links:

Amazon Fear of the Father ***** Barnes and Noble Fear of the Father ***** iBook Fear of the Father ***** Kobo Fear of the Father

As we mentioned last time, David has written a total of 8 Crockett books. At present, 5 are out. Just a heads up...come April 29, 2016, we are planning on releasing the 6th one, UnderCover.

Take to the TRAIL

DEER RUN TRAIL is free on Amazon and our other distribution sites in ebook format. And, as mentioned before, CUTTHROAT TRAIL will be released on March 15, 2016. That makes 7 books in the TRAIL series.

Passing that information on to all your friends would sure be appreciated. We'll even include a few of the links.

Amazon Deer Run Trail ***** Barnes and Noble DEER RUN TRAIL ***** iBook Deer Run Trail ***** Kobo Deer Run Trail

Thank you.

See ya again on June 1st! And, if you enjoyed this newsletter; please tell all your friends to visit our website and sign up for the fun.

Ironbear eBook Facebook link ***** Heartland Memories story page ***** Ironbear website *****

Back to Back Issues Page